The AGM was held on 20th July and two new Board Members were elected, Katherine Liu and Angela Liang.

In addition, three Directors who had served their two-year term were elected for a further two years. George Yeung, Michael Qin and John Griffiths.

It is important to record our gratitude to the retiring Directors who made an enormous contribution the future of the Chinese Museum. Bill Lau, Luisa Teh, Clement Lee and David Chu. Also, our thanks to Alan Kemp who retired earlier this year and who played a vital role as Chair of the Risk Committee.

Rebecca Huang has been elected as Chair for the coming year and John Griffiths as Deputy Chair. The
incoming Treasurer is Michael Qin. Michael Lanyon was reelected as Honorary Secretary and Lily Ong as Honorary Legal Counsel.

Retiring Chair, Bill Lau was congratulated on his long service and recognised with the title of Honorary Past Chairman.

Outgoing Director, Clement Lee who has played a vital role as Chair of the Building Redevelopment Committee has agreed to continue to act as the Committee Chair. Clement provided a detailed update of the Museum Redevelopment Project which is progressing positively to the Planning Permit stage with strong support from the City of Melbourne and the Victorian State Government.

We all look forward to the exciting future of the Chinese Museum and welcome all members and supporters to join us as we create a new chapter for the Museum’s contribution to a more harmonious society and the recognition of Chinese Australians in Australia’s multicultural society.